Thanks to all our visitors!

Programming

October 6, 7 and 8
Harvest Celebration

Fall has truly arrived, with the long Thanksgiving weekend just around the corner! Thanksgiving traditionally celebrates the fruits of our majestic Mother Earth’s labours by highlighting the abundance of the harvest throughout the weekend.

Guided by the Table Agroalimentaire de l’Outaouais team, come discover the many activities taking place in the area to promote regional products and the artisans who grow and bring them to your table.


Every Saturday and Sunday

Experience the real cultural traditions of the Algonquin Nation. Two shows a day, every Saturday and Sunday at 11 a.m. and 1 p.m. See you there!

All summer long until october 15, 2018

The AAAO will set up shop and present works at Jacques-Cartier Park. On board the TRANSISTRUCK, a mobile radio studio, local poets, novelists, playwrights, slammers and essayists will share their stories with Mosaïculture Gatineau 2018 visitors.

          


September 29 and 30


Canada-China Friendship

Did you know that more than 1.7 million Canadians—about 5% of Canada’s population—have Chinese ancestry? Mandarin and Cantonese are the languages most spoken in Canada after English and French.

The bond of friendship between Canada and China is very deep, which is why the governments of Canada and China have officially named 2018 the Year of Canada-China Tourism.

Mosaïculture Gatineau 2018 proudly presents two works built by Chinese teams: “Blessing of the Good Omen Dragons (#22)” and “Joyful Celebration of Nine Lions (#23)”.


September 22 and 23

The Culture Trail

Did you know that the honorary patron of Gatineau’s Culture Trail this year was none other than famous Gatineau giant Jos Montferrand, featured in MG2018’s number 27 mosaiculture?

The Culture Trail, inspired by Boston’s famous Freedom Trail, takes residents and visitors through downtown Gatineau on a journey of discovery and rediscovery! This three kilometre course through city streets links points of interest, exhibits and various entertainment sites, as well as a terrific selection of restaurants.

This weekend, celebrate culture and discover some of the 11 attractions (culture, civic life, public markets and heritage sites), 20 public artworks, 10 murals, 12 exhibition and performance venues, nine guided tours, seven self-guided tours and a host of programmed activities at Jacques-Cartier Park. Visit gatineau.ca/viebranchee for full details.

Corrid’Art Recycl’Art Ville de Gatineau Vision Centre-Ville Tourisme Outaouais
exhibition featuring the work of sculptors Angèle Lux and Béla Simo. The two-dimensional works of artists Gilles Pelletier, Catherine Garcia Cournoyer and Steve Coffin, Luce Marquis and Nicole Sénécal will also be featured.

UNAM-Canada, the National Autonomous University of Mexico’s extension school in Canada, will also present its cultural program with exhibitions, a choir and a theatre troupe. Members of the general public can enjoy many free activities and immerse themselves in Mexican and Hispanic culture.


September 15 and 16

Celebrate Outaouais’ colours

The season’s transitional colours are on full display. And the Mosaiculture works are also changing to the rhythm of Mother Earth, which is shining bright and more beautiful than ever.

To celebrate the end of summer, Mosaïculture Gatineau 2018 is proud to partner with the National Capital Commission (NCC) and its Fall Rhapsody to showcase the most beautiful fall landscapes in the Gatineau Hills across Gatineau Park!

From the Meech Creek Valley to Chelsea and through the Philippe Lake sector, wakefield and the municipalities of La Pêche and Pontiac, the NCC invites you to discover the Park in a new way.

To check the free NCC shuttle route and to plan your Fall Rhapsody experience, visit ncc-ccn.gc.ca


September 8 and 9

Commemoration of the Centenary of the end of the 1914-18 War

As 2018 marks the centenary of the end of the First World War, Mosaïculture Gatineau is showcasing the striking red wildflower we know as the poppy is such a well-known symbol today, it is thanks to this poem written during the First World War by Canadian army surgeon Major John McCrae. In the spring of 1915, fighting raged in the Ypres Salient, as the military called the area around the Flemish city of Ypres in Belgium. McCrae’s best friend and brother-in-arms fell in battle there.

Several military organizations will join the Canadian War Museum team in the short commemoration ceremony to be held Sunday, September 9, at 3:00 p.m., around “The Poppy, Flower of Remembrance” (#13) work.


On September 1-2 and 3 (Labour Day weekend)


Corrid’Art Event

Twenty-eight of the National Capital Region’s best artists and painters invite you to visit the Mosaïculture site to experience the creation of new works of art live. Come rub elbows with the artists as their artistic creations take shape.

See the complete list of the participating artists

 

The National Gallery of Canada invites you to watch landscape artist Tricia Savoie draw en plein air in the style of the Impressionists. You can also experiment with some Impressionist techniques using the medium of oil pastels. Two bilingual interpreters will be on site to each these techniques and answer your questions.

August 18 and 19

Put yourself in the frame!

Celebrate the International Photography Day by posting a selfie on social media live from Jacques-Cartier Park.

TO WIN: 10 PACKAGES FOR THE CAPITAL REGION’S NATIONAL MUSEUMS.
To enter, share your selfie on Facebook or Instagram with the 3 following hashtags:
#MosaicultureGatineau2018 #Outaouaisfun #MyOttawa

Representatives from the Canadian Museum of History and the Canadian War Museum will be on hand to present various armour as part of the special Medieval Europe – Power and Splendour and Armour exhibitions. A photo session and animation are also planned!

August 15

Grand Tintamarre

Mosaïculture will honour its friends in the Acadian community on the occasion of their national holiday.

We hold this community especially close to our heart since the founder of Mosaïcultures internationales de Montréal, Lise Cormier, is an emeritus Acadian by origin.

Join the Grand Tintamarre which will start at 5:30 p.m. in front of Parliament and finish at Gatineau’s Jacques-Cartier Park. The Grand Tintamarre will parade through the Byward Market before crossing the Alexandra Bridge into Gatineau.

Thanks to the event’s partnership with Mosaïculture, participants will have access to the Mosaïculture Gatineau 2018 site where they can admire artworks and enjoy Acadian entertainment and music.


August 11 and 12

Frédéric Back Weekend

Enter Frédéric Back’s magical world and discover his masterpiece “The Man Who Planted Trees” which won the Oscar for Best Animated Short Film in 1988 in Hollywood.

This work is a tribute to one man whose tireless patience and generosity neither war nor failure could stop, and who became one with his creation. A great inspiration for young people.

To highlight “Frédéric Back Weekend” at Mosaïculture Gatineau 2018, the Cinémathèque québécoise, in collaboration with Atelier Frédéric Back, has arranged for the loan of the original Best Animated Feature Oscar awarded in 1988 by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in Hollywood.

       

Child’s Day and International Youth Day Weekend

Together, let’s celebrate Gatineau’s children and youth. Several organizations have joined to shine a spotlight on the bubbling energy of those who will be called to lead us in the not-too-distant future. Action, dynamism and commitment will be on tap this weekend dedicated to “The Man Who Planted Trees”, a big source of inspiration if there ever was one!
Let’s make way for the young!

Saturday, August 11:

  • Exhibition of Frédéric Back’s Oscar
  • “How to Make a Flowerpot” featuring animation by the Children’s Museum (Canadian Museum of History)

Sunday, August 12:

  • Exhibition of Frédéric Back’s Oscar
  • “How to Make a Flowerpot” featuring animation by the Children’s Museum (Canadian Museum of History)
  • Speed graffiti workshop
  • 3D printing discovery sessions by La Fabrique mobile de l’Outaouais – Coopérative de solidarité
  • Performance by three tambourine artists from the First Peoples Innovation Centre
  • How to set up a relaxation zone
  • Polaroid photobooth
  • Plant-themed scavenger hunt

August 4-5 and 6

Algonquin Nation weekend

Immerse yourself in Algonquin culture on the ancestral territory of the Kitigan Zibi Anishinabe nation:
Jacques-Cartier Park.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau acknowledged the Algonquin Nation as “the past, present and future caretakers of this land”


August 6

Hiroshima Commemoration Day

Let’s take a moment to reflect on and commemorate the terrible Hiroshima bombing that occurred August 6, 1945. Head to the Garden Station (#38) 2:30 pm for a remembrance ceremony in the presence of His Excellency, Mr. Kimihiro Ishikane, Ambassador of Japan, and several other dignitaries.

We all have a duty to remember so that such atrocities never happen again.


July 28-29

COMMUNITIES IN BLOOM WEEKEND

Enjoy a “Magnificent Journey” by discovering works from Canada’s 10 provinces and three territories, in collaboration with Communities in Bloom.

The featured works are from Newfoundland and Labrador (#17), Prince Edward Island (#7), Nova Scotia (#9), New Brunswick (#8), Quebec (#10), Ontario (#11), Manitoba (#16), Saskatchewan (#6), Alberta (#4), British Columbia (#14), Yukon (#20), Northwest Territories (#19) and Nunavut (#21).


July 21-22

Cultural diversity weekend

Celebrate Gatineau’s effervescent cultural diversity! Head to Animation Place (#31) where you can enjoy several Colombian, Afro-Cuban and Mexican dance activities, Asian and Arabic violin music workshops as well as an exhibition of works by Notre-Dame School students.


July 14-15

Nature weekend

To learn more about the situation of the planet’s 56 endangered birds, head to the majestic Bird Tree (#25) where Canadian Museum of Nature and Parks Canada experts are on hand to raise awareness about concrete actions we can take to reverse the current trend.

Jusqu’au 15 octobre
Dernière fois au Canada!

Programmation

6-7 et 8 octobre
La Fête des récoltes

Nous voilà déjà au long weekend de l’Action-de-grâce, cette grande fête où le fruit du travail de notre majestueuse Terre-Mère prend tout son sens: l’abondance des récoltes que nous allons célébrer pendant toute la fin de semaine.

Sous l’impulsion de l’équipe de la Table Agroalimentaire de l’Outaouais, vous serez à même de découvrir les multiples actions qui sont déployées dans la région pour promouvoir les produits régionaux et les artisans qui les cultivent et les acheminent jusqu’à votre table.

Achetez vos billets!


Tous les samedis et dimanches

La nation algonquine vous fait vivre la vraie tradition culturelle! Deux prestations par jour, tous les samedis et dimanches, à 11 h et 13 h. C’est un rendez-vous!

Tout au long de l’été

L’AAAO investit le Parc Jacques-Cartier pour y présenter des œuvres. À bord d’un studio de radio mobile, le TRANSISTRUCK, les poètes, romanciers, dramaturges, slammeurs et essayistes de la région présentent des récits au public de Mosaïculture Gatineau 2018.

Voir le communiqué

          


29 et 30 septembre


Amitié Canada-Chine

Saviez-vous que plus de 1,7 million de Canadiens, soit environ 5 % de la population canadienne, sont d’origine chinoise? Le mandarin et le cantonais sont les langues les plus parlées au Canada, après l’anglais et le français.

Le lien d’amitié qui lie le Canada à la Chine est très profond. Voilà pourquoi les gouvernements du Canada et de la Chine ont proclamé 2018 l’Année du tourisme Canada-Chine afin de célébrer nos liens étroits.

Mosaïculture Gatineau 2018 présente fièrement deux œuvres qui ont été construites par des équipes chinoises : « Bénédiction des dragons de bon augure (#22) » et « Joyeuse célébration des neufs lions (#23) ».

Achetez vos billets!


22 et 23 septembre

Le Sentier culturel

Saviez-vous que le parrain d’honneur du Sentier culturel de Gatineau cette année était nul autre que le fameux géant gatinois Jos Montferrand de qui on peut retrouver la représentation en mosaïculture à la position #27 ?

Inspiré de la légendaire Freedom Trail de Boston, le Sentier culturel accompagne les résidents et les visiteurs dans la découverte et la redécouverte du centre-ville de Gatineau ! Ce fil conducteur, une ligne rouge d’une longueur de 3 km, propose une promenade urbaine qui relie des points d’intérêt, des lieux d’exposition et d’animation ainsi qu’une belle sélection de restaurants.

Ce weekend, célébrons la culture et découvrons quelques-uns des 11 attraits (culture, vie citoyenne, marchés publics, patrimoine), des 20 œuvres d’art public, des 10 œuvres d’art mural, des 12 lieux d’exposition et de spectacle, des neuf visites guidées, des sept visites autoguidées et une multitude d’activités en programmation au Parc Jacques- Cartier. Tous les détails au gatineau.ca/viebranchee

Corrid’Art Recycl’Art Ville de Gatineau Vision Centre-Ville Tourisme Outaouais
Exposition des sculptures d’Angèle Lux et de Béla Simo aux Mosaïcultures dans le cadre du weekend du sentier culturelle.

Y participent également, avec des œuvres bidimensionnelles, les artistes Gilles Pelletier, Catherine Garcia Cournoyer – Artiste, Steve Coffin, Luce Marquis, et Nicole Sénécal.

UNAM Canada, école d’extension au Canada de l’Université nationale autonome du Mexique, présentera également sa programmation culturelle: expositions, chorale et troupe de théâtre. Nombreuses activités gratuites pour la communauté qui désire s’immerger dans la culture mexicaine et hispanique.

C’est un rendez-vous!
Achetez vos billets!


15 et 16 septembre

Célébration des couleurs en Outaouais

Nous vivons actuellement les couleurs de la rentrée. En pleine transformation, les œuvres des Mosaïcultures jouent le jeu, sous l’impulsion de la Terre-Mère qui resplendit de tous ses feux et qui est plus belle que jamais.

Pour célébrer cette fin de l’été, Mosaïculture Gatineau 2018 est fier de s’associer à la Commission de la capitale nationale (CCN) et son Coloris automnal pour mettre en valeur les plus beaux paysages d’automne: ceux des collines de l’Outaouais, aux quatre coins du parc de la Gatineau!

De la Vallée du Ruisseau-Meech à Chelsea en passant par le secteur du lac Philippe, de Wakefield et des municipalités de La Pêche et de Pontiac, la CCN vous invite à découvrir le parc autrement.

Pour consulter les parcours de la navette gratuite de la CCN et pour planifier votre Coloris automnal,
visitez le ccn-ncc.gc.ca


8 et 9 septembre

Commémoration du centenaire de la fin de la Guerre 1914-18

2018 marque le centenaire de la fin de la première Grande Guerre mondiale. Ainsi, Mosaïculture Gatineau présente la très jolie fleur des champs d’un rouge vif, le coquelicot, qui doit sa très grande popularité à un poème écrit par le major John McCrae, chirurgien de campagne pour l’artillerie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien lors de la Première Guerre mondiale. Il y exprime sa vision de la vie, de la mort et du sacrifice. L’œuvre, rédigée à l’origine en anglais sous le titre In Flanders Fields, vaut au coquelicot sa renommée comme symbole du souvenir à la mémoire des soldats du Commonwealth morts à la guerre.

Plusieurs organisations militaires se joindront à l’équipe du Musée canadien de la Guerre pour accomplir un geste de mémoire, le dimanche 9 septembre à 15h, lors d’une courte cérémonie de recueillement autour de l’œuvre « Le coquelicot, fleur du souvenir » (#13).

Achetez vos billets!


Les 1-2 et 3 septembre (Fête du Travail)


Événement Corrid’Art

28 des meilleurs créateurs et artistes-peintres de la grande région de la capitale nationale vous donnent rendez-vous sur le site des Mosaïcultures pour vivre en direct la naissance de nouvelles œuvres. Venez échanger avec les artistes et les accompagner dans leurs créations artistiques.
Consultez la liste complète des artistes participants

Le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada vous invite à venir voir l’artiste-paysagiste Tricia Savoie dessiner en plein air dans le style des impressionnistes. Vous pourrez aussi expérimenter quelques techniques utilisées par les artistes impressionnistes dans le médium du pastel à l’huile. Deux interprètes bilingues seront sur place pour enseigner ces techniques et répondre à vos questions.
Achetez vos billets!

18 et 19 août

Concours – Mettez-vous en scène!

Célébrez la Journée mondiale de la photographie en diffusant un «selfie» en direct du Parc Jacques-Cartier sur les médias sociaux.

À gagner: 10 forfaits pour visiter les grands Musées de la région de la Capitale nationale.
Pour participer, partagez votre photo sur Facebook ou Instagram en utilisant les 3 «hashtags» suivants:
#MosaicultureGatineau2018 #Outaouaisfun #MyOttawa

Le Musée canadien de l’histoire et le Musée de la guerre seront présents afin de présenter différentes armures dans le cadre de l’exposition spéciale « Europe Médiévale- Pouvoir et Splendeur » ainsi que l’exposition « Armure ». Séance photo et animation seront aux rendez-vous!
Achetez vos billets!

15 août

Grand Tintamarre

Mosaïculture donnera un coup de chapeau à ses amis de la communauté acadienne pour souligner leur fête nationale.

Cette communauté nous tient particulièrement à cœur puisque la créatrice des Mosaïcultures internationales de Montréal est nulle autre qu’une acadienne émérite d’origine, Mme Lise Cormier.

Participez au Grand Tintamarre qui débutera à 17h30 devant le Parlement pour finir au parc Jacques-Cartier à Gatineau. Le trajet fera passer la parade dans le marché By avant de traverser à Gatineau par le pont Alexandra.

Grâce à un partenariat avec Mosaïculture, les participants et participantes auront accès au site de Mosaïculture Gatineau 2018 pour admirer les œuvres et profiter d’animations et de musique acadienne.


11 et 12 août

Weekend Frédéric Back

Pénétrez dans l’univers magique de Frédéric Back et de son chef-d’œuvre «L’Homme qui plantait des arbres» qui remportait l’Oscar du meilleur court métrage d’animation, en 1988 à Hollywood.

Cet œuvre est un hommage à la patience inlassable et à la générosité d’un homme que n’arrêtent ni les guerres, ni les échecs, et qui s’efface derrière sa création. Une grande inspiration pour la jeunesse.

Pour souligner la présentation du «Weekend Frédéric Back» à Mosaïculture Gatineau 2018, la Cinémathèque québécoise, de concert avec l’Atelier Frédéric-Back, a accepté de prêter l’Oscar original décerné en 1988 par l’Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences à Hollywood remis à titre «meilleur film d’animation».

       

Weekend Journée de l’Enfant et Journée internationale de la Jeunesse

Célébrons ensemble les enfants et la jeunesse de Gatineau. Plusieurs organisations se sont regroupées pour présenter l’effervescence de ceux et celles qui seront appelés à nous diriger dans un avenir pas si lointain. Action, dynamisme et engagement, telles sont les devises qui vous seront proposées pendant ce weekend qui se déroulera dans le cadre de l’hommage à «L’Homme qui plantait des arbres»: une source d’inspiration s’il en est une! Place aux jeunes!

Samedi le 11 août:

  • Exposition de l’oscar de Frédéric Back
  • Confection d’un pot de fleurs animé par le Musée des enfants (Musée canadien de l’histoire)

Dimanche le 12 août:

  • Exposition de l’oscar de Frédéric Back
  • Confection d’un pot de fleurs animé par le Musée des enfants (Musée canadien de l’histoire)
  • Animation d’un atelier de « speed » graffitis
  • Séances de découverte de l’impression 3D par La Fabrique mobile de l’Outaouais – Coopérative de solidarité
  • Performance de trois artistes tambourines du Centre d’Innovation des Premiers Peuples
  • Aménagement d’une zone de détente
  • Photobooth Polaroid
  • Activité de chasse aux plantes

Achetez vos billets!


4-5 et 6 août

Weekend de la nation algonquine

Imprégnez-vous de la culture algonquine sur le territoire ancestral du peuple Kitigan Zibi Anishinabe: le Parc Jacques-Cartier.

Le premier ministre Justin Trudeau a reconnu la nation algonquine «comme les gardiens passés, présents et futurs de ce territoire».


6 août

Journée de commémoration Hiroshima

Prenons un moment de réflexion pour commémorer la terrible attaque sur Hiroshima survenue le 6 août 1945. Rendez-vous, à 14 h 30, au Jardin de la gare (#38), pour une cérémonie de recueillement en présence de son Excellence, M. Kimihiro Ishikane, Ambassadeur du Japon et de plusieurs dignitaires.

Nous avons tous un devoir de mémoire pour faire en sorte que de telles atrocités ne se reproduisent plus jamais.


28-29 juillet

WEEKEND COLLECTIVITÉS EN FLEURS

Effectuez «un voyage merveilleux» à travers le Canada en découvrant les œuvres des 10 provinces et des 3 Territoires canadiens en collaboration avec Communautés en fleurs.

Les œuvres sont Terre-Neuve et Labrador (#17), Île du Prince-Édouard (#7), Nouvelle-Écosse (#9), Nouveau- Brunswick (#8), Québec (#10), Ontario (#11), Manitoba (#16), Saskatchewan (#6), Alberta (#4), Colombie-Britannique (#14), Yukon (#20), Territoires du Nord-Ouest (#19) et Nunavut (#21).


21-22 juillet

Weekend de la diversité culturelle

Célébrez l’effervescence de la diversité culturelle de Gatineau! Rendez-vous à la Place de l’animation (#31) où vous sont proposées de multiples activités, notamment de la danse colombienne, afro-cubaine et mexicaine, des ateliers de musique asiatique et arabe au violon ainsi qu’une exposition mettant en vedette les œuvres des enfants de l’École Notre-Dame.


14-15 juillet

Weekend nature

Pour tout savoir sur la problématique des 56 oiseaux en voie d’extinction sur la planète, rendez-vous admirer l’œuvre majestueuse de l’Arbre aux oiseaux (#25) où des experts du Musée canadien de la nature et de Parcs Canada vous sensibiliseront face aux gestes concrets que nous pouvons poser pour renverser la situation.